PowerToolCliff

Department

Pruners & Garden Scissors

What sets it apart: the only category where a listing states replaceable parts

Every listing here names its blade, so the blade edge is the tooth the whole category shares. What sets the category apart is a single listing: the count stating replaceable parts is one here and one in the whole catalog.

Kind of toolThe pruner · Listings6

Bypass pruners

3 listings

Bypass blades, which Penn State Extension describes as passing each other like scissors. The Fiskars listing prints a cut capacity and the Felco listing states replaceable parts.

  • Felco F2 Pruning Shears, 9.25 inch, Swiss-Made
    Only listing stating replaceable parts

    Basis: The one listing among all the listings in this catalog that states replaceable parts

    Felco F2 Pruning Shears, 9.25 inch, Swiss-Made

    1 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: named, replacement stated
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 9.25 inches, a precision bypass blade, an aluminum body and replaceable parts

    The one listing in this catalog that states its parts can be replaced. It does not say which parts, so the yellow base on its strip sits under the one part it does name, the blade.

    On the record

    • The only listing in the catalog stating replaceable parts
    • Names a bypass blade
    • Names the body material, aluminum
    • Prints a length, 9.25 inches

    Missing or caveated

    • Does not say which parts can be replaced
    • Does not name the blade steel
    • No cut capacity printed

    Worth reading for: A listing that states replacement in its own words

    Felco F2 bypass shears on Amazon
  • Fiskars Bypass Pruning Shears, 5/8 inch Cut Capacity
    Only printed cut capacity

    Basis: The one listing in Pruners & Garden Scissors that prints a cut capacity, 5/8 inch

    Fiskars Bypass Pruning Shears, 5/8 inch Cut Capacity

    1 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: named
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: a 5/8 inch cut capacity, a self-cleaning sap groove, a non-slip grip and steel blades with a low-friction coating

    The only pruner listing that prints a cut capacity, 5/8 inch. It names steel blades with a coating and does not say what the coating is.

    On the record

    • The only printed cut capacity in this category, 5/8 inch
    • Names the blade material, steel
    • Names a blade coating
    • Names a sap groove

    Missing or caveated

    • Does not say what the coating is made of
    • No length printed
    • Nothing about replacing the blade

    Worth reading for: A cut capacity printed on a pruner

    Fiskars bypass shears on Amazon
  • Haus & Garten ClassicPRO 8.5 inch Titanium Bypass Pruning Shears
    Only listing printing titanium

    Basis: The one listing in Pruners & Garden Scissors with the word titanium

    Haus & Garten ClassicPRO 8.5 inch Titanium Bypass Pruning Shears

    1 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: named
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 8.5 inches, a titanium bypass blade and a handheld build

    Seller’s wording, quoted as printed: heavy duty

    A bypass pruner whose listing puts the word titanium next to the blade and does not say whether that means a coating, an alloy or something else. It prints a length and no cut capacity.

    On the record

    • Describes the blade as bypass
    • Prints a length, 8.5 inches
    • The only listing here printing the word titanium
    • Filed where it belongs, among pruners

    Missing or caveated

    • Does not say what titanium refers to on the blade
    • Cut capacity not given
    • Silent on a replacement blade

    Worth reading for: The word titanium printed next to a blade

    Haus & Garten ClassicPRO shears on Amazon
Bypass pruners: only figures that differ between these listings are shown as columns.
ListingLengthCut capacityReplacement statedMaterial words
Felco F2 Pruning Shears, 9.25 inch, Swiss-Made9.25 inchesnot stated by the manufactureryesReplaceable parts
Fiskars Bypass Pruning Shears, 5/8 inch Cut Capacitynot stated by the manufacturer5/8 inchnoTitanium and coatings
Haus & Garten ClassicPRO 8.5 inch Titanium Bypass Pruning Shears8.5 inchesnot stated by the manufacturernoTitanium and coatings, Heavy duty

Straight-blade snips

3 listings

Straight or micro-tip blades. The micro-tip listing makes a claim about the edge over time, quoted on its card as the seller’s words.

  • VIVOSUN 6.5 inch Gardening Scissors with Straight Stainless Blades

    VIVOSUN 6.5 inch Gardening Scissors with Straight Stainless Blades

    1 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: named
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 6.5 inches and straight stainless steel blades

    Straight-blade garden scissors with the shortest listing in this category: a length and a blade material. Both are about the blade, so the one tooth it could name, it names.

    On the record

    • Names the blade material, stainless steel
    • Names straight blades
    • Prints a length, 6.5 inches
    • Filed where it belongs, among garden scissors

    Missing or caveated

    • The stainless steel grade is not named
    • Prints no cut capacity
    • Nothing about replacing the blades

    Worth reading for: A blade material printed with nothing around it

    VIVOSUN straight-blade scissors on Amazon
  • Fiskars 6 inch Micro-Tip Pruning Snips
    Only micro-tip blades

    Basis: The one listing in Pruners & Garden Scissors that names micro-tip blades

    Fiskars 6 inch Micro-Tip Pruning Snips

    1 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: named
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 6 inches, micro-tip blades, an easy action spring and a SoftGrip handle

    Seller’s wording, quoted as printed: Blades Stay Sharp

    Micro-tip snips whose listing names the blade tips, a spring and a grip, and makes a claim about the edge over time. That claim is the seller’s, quoted below; this site does not assess how long any edge lasts.

    On the record

    • The only listing here naming micro-tip blades
    • Names a spring
    • Prints a length, 6 inches
    • Names a grip

    Missing or caveated

    • The edge claim is the seller’s wording, not a figure
    • No steel named for the blades
    • No word on replacing the blades

    Worth reading for: A seller’s edge claim set apart from the listing facts

    Fiskars micro-tip snips on Amazon
  • EWPJDK 3-Pack Garden Pruning Shears, Stainless Steel
    Only multi-pair pack

    Basis: Three pairs in a single listing, the only pack in Pruners & Garden Scissors

    EWPJDK 3-Pack Garden Pruning Shears, Stainless Steel

    1 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: named
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: three pairs, stainless steel blades, a locking mechanism and a non-slip grip

    A pack of three pairs rather than a single tool. Where every other listing here puts one blade edge in the box, this one puts in three, which is its own kind of answer to the question of what wears.

    On the record

    • The only multi-pair pack in this category
    • Names stainless steel for the blades
    • Names a locking mechanism
    • Names a non-slip grip

    Missing or caveated

    • Length not given
    • No cut capacity for any of the pairs
    • Silent on replacement blades

    Worth reading for: A pack that ships more than one of the same tool

    EWPJDK three-pair pack on Amazon
Straight-blade snips: only figures that differ between these listings are shown as columns.
ListingPiece countLengthMaterial words
VIVOSUN 6.5 inch Gardening Scissors with Straight Stainless Bladesnot stated by the manufacturer6.5 inchesStainless steel
Fiskars 6 inch Micro-Tip Pruning Snipsnot stated by the manufacturer6 inchesnot stated by the manufacturer
EWPJDK 3-Pack Garden Pruning Shears, Stainless Steelthree pairsnot stated by the manufacturerStainless steel

Plain answers about Pruners & Garden Scissors

Which listing states replaceable parts?

The Felco F2. It does not say which parts, and this site does not add a list of its own.

Does this site say how long any of these edges last?

This site does not assess how long any edge lasts. Where a listing makes a claim about the edge, it is quoted as the seller’s words.

How many pruner listings print a cut capacity?

One. Lengths are printed more often than cut capacity in this category.