PowerToolCliff

Department

Tool Sets

What sets it apart: a piece count, and three listings that are not general household kits

A household kit sells on its piece count, and the count is the one figure almost every listing here prints. What the count leaves out is which pieces go first. Four of the eight listings in this category name none of the parts on the strip at all.

Kind of toolThe household kit · Listings8

General household kits

5 listings

Boxes of hand tools sold by count. The counts differ; what the listings say about wear mostly does not.

  • Amazon Basics 173-Piece General Household Hand Tool Set
    Largest count of the general kits

    Basis: 173 pieces, a figure no other general household kit here prints

    Amazon Basics 173-Piece General Household Hand Tool Set

    0 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: not named
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 173 pieces, a storage case and a portable kit for home maintenance

    The largest piece count among the general household kits here, at 173. The listing counts pieces and names a case, and it names none of the parts in the box that go first.

    On the record

    • Prints a piece count, 173, in the title
    • Names a storage case as part of the set
    • The highest count of the general household kits in this category
    • Filed where it belongs, among general household kits

    Missing or caveated

    • No bit, blade or drive named, so every tooth on the strip is blunt
    • The count is not broken down by kind of tool
    • Nothing about replacing any part

    Worth reading for: The piece count printed on a general household kit

    Amazon Basics 173-piece kit on Amazon
  • DEKOPRO 126-Piece Home Tool Set with 8V Cordless Drill, Pink
    Only kit stating a cordless drill

    Basis: The one listing in Tool Sets that states a voltage, 8V

    DEKOPRO 126-Piece Home Tool Set with 8V Cordless Drill, Pink

    1 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: not named
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 126 pieces, an 8V cordless drill and a hand tool kit

    Seller’s wording, quoted as printed: for Women

    A household kit with a cordless drill in the box, so its listing names a battery voltage, 8V, next to a piece count of 126. It is the one kit in this category whose drive field is a rechargeable battery rather than a hand.

    On the record

    • Names the drill voltage, 8V
    • Prints a piece count, 126
    • The only kit in this category that states a battery tool
    • Names both halves of the box: a drill and a hand tool kit

    Missing or caveated

    • No amp hour figure for the battery
    • No chuck size stated for the drill
    • The piece count is not split between the drill accessories and the hand tools

    Worth reading for: A household kit that puts a battery tool in the same box

    DEKOPRO 126-piece kit with drill on Amazon
  • Amazon Basics 142-Piece Household Tool Kit, Turquoise
    Only kit printing case dimensions

    Basis: The one listing in Tool Sets that gives the measurements of its case

    Amazon Basics 142-Piece Household Tool Kit, Turquoise

    0 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: not named
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 142 pieces, a storage case and case dimensions of 13.39 by 9.25 by 2.95 inches

    A general household kit whose listing gives more about the case than about the tools: a piece count of 142 and the case dimensions. Of the parts that wear, it names none.

    On the record

    • Prints a piece count, 142
    • The only kit here that prints the dimensions of its case
    • Names a case to hold the set
    • Prints its color, turquoise, in the title

    Missing or caveated

    • Names no bit tip, blade or drive
    • Does not say how its 142 pieces divide by kind of tool
    • Silent on replacement parts for anything in the case

    Worth reading for: The size of the case a household kit arrives in

    Amazon Basics 142-piece kit on Amazon
  • CARTMAN 39-Piece Household Tool Set, Orange, with Storage Case

    CARTMAN 39-Piece Household Tool Set, Orange, with Storage Case

    0 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: not named
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 39 pieces, a storage case and use for home repairs, furniture setup and household fixes

    A small household kit, 39 pieces, whose listing describes the jobs it is sold for rather than the tools inside. Nothing in it names a bit, a blade or a drive.

    On the record

    • Prints a piece count, 39
    • Names a storage case
    • Names the kinds of household jobs the seller lists it for
    • Prints its color, orange, in the title

    Missing or caveated

    • Names none of the parts that wear
    • Shares its piece count with another kit in this category, so the count alone does not separate them
    • No word on replacing a single piece

    Worth reading for: The jobs a seller lists a small household kit against

    CARTMAN 39-piece orange kit on Amazon
  • Apollo Tools 39 Piece General Household Tool Set, Pink DT9706P
    Only general kit with a model number

    Basis: The one general household kit here whose title carries a model number

    Apollo Tools 39 Piece General Household Tool Set, Pink DT9706P

    0 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: not named
    • Chuck and drive: not named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 39 pieces, a toolbox storage case and essential hand tools

    Seller’s wording, quoted as printed: Pink Ribbon

    A household kit of 39 pieces in a toolbox case. The title prints a phrase this site quotes as printed; nothing on the listing, as supplied here, says what the phrase refers to, and this site has nothing to check it against.

    On the record

    • Counts 39 pieces in the title
    • Names a toolbox storage case
    • Carries a model number in the title
    • Prints its color, pink, in the title

    Missing or caveated

    • Names no bit, blade or drive among its tools
    • Does not list which hand tools make up the 39
    • The phrase in the title is unexplained, and this site does not read anything into it

    Worth reading for: A small household kit identified by a model number

    Apollo Tools 39-piece pink kit on Amazon
General household kits: only figures that differ between these listings are shown as columns.
ListingPiece countVoltageWear points named
Amazon Basics 173-Piece General Household Hand Tool Set173 piecesnot stated by the manufacturernone
DEKOPRO 126-Piece Home Tool Set with 8V Cordless Drill, Pink126 pieces8VBattery
Amazon Basics 142-Piece Household Tool Kit, Turquoise142 piecesnot stated by the manufacturernone
CARTMAN 39-Piece Household Tool Set, Orange, with Storage Case39 piecesnot stated by the manufacturernone
Apollo Tools 39 Piece General Household Tool Set, Pink DT9706P39 piecesnot stated by the manufacturernone

Specialist kits

3 listings

A mechanics set, a data cable crimp tool and a precision and ratchet set. Two of them are filed here although they are not household kits, and their cards say so.

  • CRAFTSMAN 230-Piece Mechanics Tool Set, CMMT45306, with VERSASTACK Box
    Largest count in this category

    Basis: 230 pieces, the highest figure printed by any listing in Tool Sets

    CRAFTSMAN 230-Piece Mechanics Tool Set, CMMT45306, with VERSASTACK Box

    1 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: not named
    • Chuck and drive: named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 230 pieces, SAE and metric sockets, 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 inch drives, short and long arm hex keys and a VERSASTACK toolbox

    A mechanics set rather than a general household kit, and the largest piece count in this category at 230. It names its drive sizes, which puts it on the chuck and drive tooth.

    On the record

    • The largest piece count in Tool Sets, 230
    • Names each of its drive sizes
    • Names both SAE and metric sockets
    • Names hex keys in two arm lengths

    Missing or caveated

    • Names no bit tip or blade
    • The count is not broken down between sockets, keys and the rest
    • Nothing about replacing a socket or a key

    Worth reading for: Drive sizes printed on a mechanics set

    CRAFTSMAN 230-piece mechanics set on Amazon
  • Klein Tools 80024 Ratcheting Data Cable and RJ45 Crimp Tool with 50 CAT6 Plugs
    Only listing shipping consumables

    Basis: 50 plugs in the box, the one consumable count in Tool Sets

    Klein Tools 80024 Ratcheting Data Cable and RJ45 Crimp Tool with 50 CAT6 Plugs

    Filed here with a caveat: A data cable crimp tool, filed in this catalog among household tool kits. It is one tool plus fifty plugs, not a household kit.

    1 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: not named
    • Blade edge: not named
    • Chuck and drive: named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: a ratcheting crimp tool, pass-thru installation and a fifty pack of CAT6 plugs

    A single crimp tool for data cable, filed among household kits. It is the only listing in this category that ships with consumables, 50 plugs, which says plainly what the box expects to run out of.

    On the record

    • States the number of plugs in the box, 50
    • Names a ratcheting mechanism
    • Names the plug type it ships with
    • Names its model number in the title

    Missing or caveated

    • Not a household kit, despite where it is filed
    • Nothing about replacing the crimping part itself
    • This site does not describe how the tool is used; that belongs to the maker’s instructions

    Worth reading for: A tool that states its consumables by count

    Klein Tools data cable crimper on Amazon
  • Amazon Basics Magnetic Ratcheting Wrench and Precision Screwdriver Set, 73-Piece
    Most wear points named in this category

    Basis: Names a bit tip and a drive, more than any other listing in Tool Sets

    Amazon Basics Magnetic Ratcheting Wrench and Precision Screwdriver Set, 73-Piece

    Filed here with a caveat: A precision screwdriver and ratcheting wrench set, filed here among household kits although this catalog has a screwdriver category.

    2 of 6 teeth sharp

    • Battery: not named
    • Bit tip: named
    • Blade edge: not named
    • Chuck and drive: named
    • Nozzle and filter: not named
    • Claw and tine: not named

    The listing states: 73 pieces, a magnetic ratcheting wrench, an electronics precision screwdriver set and a carry case

    A precision screwdriver set joined to a ratcheting wrench, filed among household kits. Its listing names both a bit tip and a drive, which makes it the kit in this category that names the most wear points.

    On the record

    • Prints a piece count, 73
    • Names a ratcheting wrench
    • Names a precision screwdriver set
    • Names a carry case

    Missing or caveated

    • Filed among household kits although it is a precision and ratchet set
    • Does not say what the bits are made of
    • Nothing about replacing a bit or the ratchet

    Worth reading for: A precision set that also names a ratchet

    Amazon Basics 73-piece ratchet and precision set on Amazon
Specialist kits: only figures that differ between these listings are shown as columns.
ListingPiece countConsumablesWear points named
CRAFTSMAN 230-Piece Mechanics Tool Set, CMMT45306, with VERSASTACK Box230 piecesnot stated by the manufacturerChuck and drive
Klein Tools 80024 Ratcheting Data Cable and RJ45 Crimp Tool with 50 CAT6 Plugsnot stated by the manufacturer50Chuck and drive
Amazon Basics Magnetic Ratcheting Wrench and Precision Screwdriver Set, 73-Piece73-Piecenot stated by the manufacturerBit tip, Chuck and drive

Plain answers about Tool Sets

Which kit in this category names the most wear points?

The precision and ratchet set, which names a bit tip and a drive. It is also one of the listings filed here that is not a household kit.

Does any kit here state that a part can be replaced?

The count of Tool Sets listings stating replacement is none. The crimp tool ships with plugs, which are consumables, and says nothing about replacing the tool’s own parts.

Why is a crimp tool in Tool Sets?

That is where the catalog files it. This site keeps it where it was filed and puts a note on its card rather than moving it.